Saturday Morning

Saturday Morning is one of my first digital composites and utilizes an old photograph of an interior doorway in Berks Co., PA found in the online catalog of the U.S. Library of Congress. I made multiple copies to insert and remove various features but the walls and rug are hand colored. The little boy and his angry artwork were hand drawn, the dog is a photograph I took of my Husky/German Shepard mix, and the parents were hand drawn and then cut out. Photography editing software was used both before and after assembling the components. The complete image is pictured below.
Capturing the effect of morning light streaming was very important to me for this picture. I wanted that sense of hope – the idea of a beginning, the daily renewal of life that both dogs and kids seem to particularly enjoy – shattered and broken, I think.     saturday-morning
