Map of the World at the Edge

A more recent digital composite composed of an acrylic painting on canvas paper, a black and white photograph from Russell Lee, and digitally enhanced grass. I call these digital composites because they all, by merit of have any effects added or by existing in entirety only on a computer, become Digital artwork. However, many of my digital composites start with hand-made objects and paper copies.
Map of the World at the Edge
The main reason I chose this digital composite to show and discuss is because I like it. I like the visible texture in the background layer from the canvas paper nap in light pea green “sky” to the rocky red and sienna planetary body and halo that dominates the upper left corner. I like the perception of texture in the grass and the hard edge (it was hand cut and taped to the background before being scanned into the computer} that separates the man from his environment. The image of the man has had some light photo effects added to smooth out the image and make it softer. I like that the outline of Oklahoma is easily seen on the map and required no added effects. The stark white border frames the image and hints at it’s photographic background while really making the colors in the image pop.
I also like the reminder that while life might become harsher than we ourselves can imagine in the near future, it has been harsh many, many times before and so far survived.
